Vasiliki Papadopoulou

We have art in order not to die of the truth. Friedrich Nietzsche

UCA Canterbury visit – Architecture department – Model-making workshop.

Even though I am not planning to apply for an architecture-related course, I believe that architecture is directly related to jewellery (which I am planning to study). That’s the reason why I thought that this visit would be a useful experience. Which it was!

After a tour to the architecture departmentand the exhibetion of the first-year architecture students, we started the model-making workshop during which we were asked to develop maquettes using grey card considering some spatial gestures and/ or opposing conditions. So, I decided that I want to explore light and shadow and I created two models that were composed of joint pieces of card.My third model was made of curved shapes that reminded me of the structure of the atom

IMG_0185IMG_0183

 

IMG_0204IMG_0199IMG_0200

 

IMG_0201IMG_0203IMG_0210

I feel that this workshop was very useful because, first of all, I got familiarized with this particular material and, second of all, I got inspired by my models since I could make very interesting pieces of jewellery based on them.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on February 2, 2014 by in 3 Dimensional Design.